In observance of Memorial Day all Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh locations will be closed on Monday, May 28, 2012.
small text medium text large text

Jobs, Careers & Education
Research Databases

Logging on from home or work?

You can log into almost all of the databases listed below from outside the library using your library barcode number. If you don't have a library card, you may do so by reviewing the registration options on our Get a Library Card page.

Please make sure that you are accessing this page via http://www.carnegielibrary.org/ and NOT clpgh.org. Click here to correct.

Those databases specified with "No Remote Access" must be used from a computer inside the library. "Remote Access (CLP Card)" databases are only accessible with a Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (CLP) library card. Click here if not a CLP cardholder.

Having problems? See our Troubleshooting Tips or contact us.

Jobs & Careers

Career Cruising
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Career profiles, assessment tools, and other career-related information.
Chronicle Career Library
Library Access
JCEC at Main and Downtown & Business ONLY
NO Remote Access
The Chronicle Career Library provides comprehensive descriptions of more than 2,000 jobs. Each occupational brief includes information on the work performed, training, education or certifications needed, hours and earnings, and employment outlook.
Homework Help - Career Center
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Live Homework Help has added a Career Center for 2010. Every weekday between 3 and 10 p.m., you can receive live, personalized assistance with resume writing, preparation for the GED and U.S. Citizenship Exam. Live Homework Help also offers a "Back to School" section for non-traditional students designed to help them return to the classroom. Visit the Skills Center anytime for printable practice tests for the GRE, MCAT, LSAT and other standardized tests.
Resume Maker
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Step-by-step resume instruction, job search advice, and career information are available to you via the ResumeMaker portal. Users can create a free account to save document drafts and other career information. Also contains job and career-related video clips and tutorials.
Testing & Education Reference Center
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Database of college, graduate & vocational schools that also offers test preparation & practice exams for high school, college entrance, professional certification and licensing, military, and civil service.

Education

Business Degree Online
This searchable, web based directory includes "over 46,000 total programs of both online and campus-based business degree and certificate programs. It includes everything from Associate Degree programs, Bachelors in Business, and MBA programs to PhD / Doctor of Business Administration (DBA) programs." New schools and new articles are constantly being added.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
A bibliographic database that provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
Live Homework Help
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Got homework? Get online help from real tutors! Live Homework Help offers online tutoring for 4th grade to College level questions in English, Math, Science and Social Studies. Non-traditional students and adult learners can take advantage of essay writing, skills building, GED prep, and other tutoring services designed specifically for adults. To find out how it works, sign up for an account and click their "Check out our FAQs" link. Every day from 3 pm to 10 pm!
Teacher Reference Center
Provides abstract information from over 260 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals.
Testing & Education Reference Center
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Database of college, graduate & vocational schools that also offers test preparation & practice exams for high school, college entrance, professional certification and licensing, military, and civil service.
Tuition Funding Sources
Students can search the TFS databases for scholarships and other forms of financial aid, take personality and career aptitude tests, and search for detailed college information. TuitionFundingSources.com also maintains a large database of athletic scholarships. When registering, new users should select "Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh" as their school.

Up  Return to the top