small text medium text large text

Books & Literature Research Databases

Logging on from home or work?

You can log into almost all of the databases listed below from outside the library using your library barcode number. If you don't have a library card, you may do so by reviewing the registration options on our Get a Library Card page.

Please make sure that you are accessing this page via http://www.carnegielibrary.org/ and NOT clpgh.org. Click here to correct.

Those databases specified with "No Remote Access" must be used from a computer inside the library. "Remote Access (CLP Card)" databases are only accessible with a Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (CLP) library card. Click here if not a CLP cardholder.

Having problems? See our Troubleshooting Tips or contact us.

Books

Access Pennsylvania
On-Line Catalog
Shared catalog for materials owned by most Pennsylvania libraries.
ARBAOnline
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
American Reference Books Annual online.
EBSCOhost
Full text electronic books.
Naxos Spoken Word Library
Listen to streaming audio of adult and children's classic fiction, non-fiction, plays, and poetry.
You must use the log out button when exiting this database, or future log-ins may be unsuccessful.
netLibrary
See EBSCOhost
NoveList
Includes fiction authors, titles and themes. Provides suggestions of books that are similar to those of a particular author or a certain title.
Novelist K-8
Information about more than 38,000 fiction titles of interest to students in grades K-8. Full text reviews from professional journals and book talks for selected titles are available in this database.
TumbleBooks
TumbleBooks add animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books, producing an electronic picture book which you can read or have read to you. TumbleBooks are created in flash animation and require the Adobe Flash Player Plugin.
WorldCat
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Search the holdings of over 9,000 libraries at one time. If you find something that you want, and we don't have it, you can use Interlibrary Loan.
Non-CLP cardholders: Search WorldCat

Literature

Academic OneFile
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Need journal articles for a research paper, homework assignment, or professional / business project? Academic OneFile contains over 6,000 full-text articles from peer-reviewed sources, as well as more than 8,000 additional abstracts / citations. Additional materials include podcasts and transcripts from news outlets such as NPR, CNN, and CBC.
African American Experience
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Full text information on African American history and culture.
Contemporary Authors
Biographical and critical articles on current writers of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures and television.
Literature Criticism Online
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Literature Criticism Online provides more than 200,000 reprinted essays of both critical perspectives and in-depth contextual information needed to understand the social, political and historical implications of hundreds of literary works, writers and literary periods. These scholarly overviews and analysis are copied from the print editions of Gale's popular and authoritative Literary Criticism series, and are available in PDF format.
Literature Resource Center
Author information, literary criticism and plot summaries for authors from every age and literary discipline.
Naxos Spoken Word Library
Listen to streaming audio of adult and children's classic fiction, non-fiction, plays, and poetry.
You must use the log out button when exiting this database, or future log-ins may be unsuccessful.
NoveList
Includes fiction authors, titles and themes. Provides suggestions of books that are similar to those of a particular author or a certain title.
Oxford English Dictionary
NO Remote Access
Contains the complete text of the Oxford English Dictionary from its 20-volume Second Edition and its 3-volume Additions Series.
Salem Literature
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Searchable literary criticism of selected authors and works. More titles added as they arrive. Current offerings include volumes on Toni Morrison and Jane Austen, and individual works by Tennessee Williams and Arthur Miller.
Theatre in Video
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Explore 20th-century theatre history via this streaming video database. Contents include the complete BBC Shakespeare performances, live television broadcasts from the 1950s, experimental theatre of the 60s and 70s, important contemporary performances, and theatre documentaries.